New Austrian wine classifications
12 Mar 2010 by Julia Harding MW
Two new DAC** regions will come into force on 1 Sep 2010: Leithaberg (pictured here) and Eisenberg (pictured below). Leithaberg DAC , which gained ministerial approval back in July 2009, is unusual in that it can be applied to both red and white varieties and to certain blends, whereas the earliest DACs were for one variety only, unblended, attempting to establish a typical style for a specific region/variety combination, based more or less on existing practice. Wines must come from the town of Eisenstadt (not to be confused with Eisenberg, see below), west of Rust in Neusiedlersee-Hügelland, and its surrounding...

Sorry, this page is available only to current Purple Pages members. If you're not a member, why not join today and meet a lively community of fellow wine enthusiasts?

If you are already a Purple Pager, please log in.

Sign up for Purple Pages
  • 10669 articles (two new most days) and 99598 tasting notes
  • Exclusive online access to The Oxford Companion to Wine
  • Exclusive online access to all the World Atlas of Wine maps
  • Lively and intelligent Members' forum
  • Completely independent news, comment and inside tips
Join now
£6.99 a month or £69 a year
(Available in GBP, USD, EUR or AUD)
Contact us | Team Jancis | Site FAQs | Join now | Terms and Conditions | Privacy policy | Site map | RSS
© Copyright 2000-2014 Jancis Robinson