Back to all articles
  • Richard Hemming MW
Written by
  • Richard Hemming MW
22 Jun 2012

The English and Welsh Wine of the Year competition has just announced its results, with 14 gold, 88 silver and 113 bronze medals having been awarded among 263 entries. The organisers pride themselves on being the only wine competition in the world judged exclusively by Masters of Wine.

A host of trophies were given in various categories. The star performer for still whites was the Bacchus variety, which scooped five trophies and five golds. Winning producers included Camel Valley for their Bacchus 2011, Chapel Down's Bacchus Reserve 2010, New Hall Bacchus 2011 and Furleigh Estate Bacchus Fumé 2010.

A relative newcomer, Furleigh Estate of Dorset, also won the Vintner's Trophy for most outstanding sparkling wine, surely the hardest-fought category where English wine is concerned. The full list of medal and trophy winners can be seen on the English Wine Producers website.

The top awards, namely the Winemaker of the Year and Gore-Brown Trophy (for overall wine of the year) will be announced on 13 July, along with a new award for 'English Wine Producers' Communicator of the Year'.