The very feminine 2019 Roederers

Louis Roederer International Wine Writers' Awards shortlists 2019

Non-British women and did especially well at last night’s Louis Roederer International Wine Writers’ Awards held in a brand new wing of the Royal Academy of Arts in Mayfair, London.

Three of our contributors were shortlisted in two categories, each of which was won by a writer who had submitted to the judges articles written for this site. Malu Lambert’s article on the renaissance of Clairette in South Africa helped win her the Montblanc Emerging Wine Writer of the Year category. Earlier that day in London she had participated in a vertical tasting of the sweet Vin de Constance, on which she will be reporting here.

Alder Yarrow and Andrea Frost were two of only four writers shortlisted in the Marchesi Mazzei Wine Columnist of the Year category, which was won by Andrea, an Australian wine writer who has been studying philosophy in London and whose bi-monthly columns on this site, such as this one on Wine as membership, helped win her the award.

Other winners were:

  • Louis Roederer Artistry of Wine Award – Leif Carlsson (the award being collected on his behalf by another shortlisted contributor to Jon Wyand)
  • Pio Cesare Consumer Title Writer of the Year (a new category designed for non-wine-specific media) – Karen MacNeil for her contributions for sporting lifestyle magazine Covey Rise 
  • Ramos Pinto Online Communicator of the Year – Kelli White (an MW student who writes for
  • Domaine Faiveley Wine Book of the Year – Simon Woolf, shortlisted in no fewer than three categories, for his Amber Revolution about orange wines
  • Domaines Ott Wine Feature Writer of the Year – Esther Mobley for her column in the San Francisco Chronicle

This was the fifteenth year of the awards. We were particularly pleased to win Wine Website of the Year in 2010, the only year that category existed.

The judges are always chaired by wine writer Charles Metcalfe, who this year was advised by Victoria Hall, Anne Krebiehl MW, Emma Symington MW, Victoria Daskal (a previous contributor to, Joanna Simon and John Stimpfig.

See the 2019 shortlists below, winners asterisked.

Shortlists for the Louis Roederer wine writers' awards 2019