Back to all articles
  • Richard Hemming MW
Written by
  • Richard Hemming MW
9 Jul 2010

The shortlist for the 2010 Louis Roederer International Wine Writers' Awards has just been announced. Following on from Julia's success last year come two listings for, namely International Wine Website of the Year for Team Jancis, and Emerging Wine Writer of the Year for me, the latter being a new category for this year.

The prize for each winner is £1,500, a magnum of Cristal and an engraved trophy. Those deliberating on the panel of judges are Charles Metcalfe (chairman), Tim Atkin MW, Susy Atkins, Christine Austin, Victoria Moore, Christine Parkinson and Tom Stevenson. Results will be announced at a ceremony in London this September.

The list, as you'll see below, is chock full of talented people, and no category will be won easily. Congratulations to all those shortlisted!

International Wine Feature Writer of the Year 2010
Joanne Gibson (Articles from Wine magazine)
Jamie Goode (Articles from The World of Fine Wine)
Margaret Rand (Articles from Decanter and The World of Fine Wine)
John Stimpfig (Articles from The Financial Times – How to Spend it)

International Wine Columnist of the Year 2010
Michael Fridjhon (Columns from Business Day)
Andrew Jefford (Columns from Decanter and Waitrose Food Illustrated)
Will Lyons (Columns from The Wall Street Journal)
Anthony Rose (Columns from The Independent)

International Wine Book of the Year 2010
Nick Belfrage (The Finest Wines of Tuscany and Central Italy)
Michael Edwards (The Finest Wines of Champagne)
Benjamin Lewin (What Price Bordeaux?)
Remington Norman and Charles Taylor MW (The Great Domaines of Burgundy)

Regional Wine Writer of the Year 2010
Tom Bruce-Gardyne (Articles from The Saturday Herald)
Rose Murray Brown MW (Articles from The Scotsman)
Liz Sagues (Articles from Hampstead and Highgate Express)
Helen Savage (Articles from The Journal, Newcastle) 

International Wine Publication of the Year 2010
Decanter  (Guy Woodward)
Imbibe (Mark de Wesselow)
The World of Fine Wine (Sara Morley)

International Wine Website of the Year 2010
Tom Cannavan (
Jamie Goode (
Gabriella Opaz (
Jancis Robinson (

International Online Wine Columnist / Blogger of the Year 2010
Andrew Jefford (Articles from
Anthony Rose (Articles from
Kate Thal (Articles from
Simon Woods (Articles from

Emerging Wine Writer of the Year 2010
Rebecca Gibb (Articles from various publications)
Richard Hemming (Articles from
Gabriel Savage (Articles from The Drinks Business)
Lucy Shaw (Articles from Decanter)

The Artistry of Wine Award 2010
Jamie Goode
Catharine Lowe
Mick Rock
Jon Wyand